Indie Shuffle App
FREE — On Google Play
Indie Shuffle App
FREE — On iTunes

What's so good?
By Hugh McClure | Oct 25, 2012 | Total plays: 64,742

Adelaide's City Riots have been eagerly anticipating this day, the release of their debut album Sea of Bright Lights. A long time coming, the album follows up from their 2011 Matchsticks EP, and sees the four-piece really come into their own as a band.

Written and recorded under the watchful eye of Paul Annison (Children Collide, Red Riders), we brought you the album's first single "Wait For You" back in July "“ as well as the remix by fellow Adelaide local Luke Million.

The album highlights the band's devotion to classic pop-rock music. The band's evocative lyrics and adventurous, extraterrestrial musical arrangement are a real throwback to some of the great Brit-pop bands of old.

Aside from the stirring first single "Wait For You," the album includes a number of standout tracks. Opener "Turn" sets the scene for what's to follow "“ heavy bass riffs and dreamy guitar "“ before "Catch the Sun," which gorgeous reverbed vocals and a much stronger percussion involvement as the track progresses. "Sucker Punch" has a more playful, beachy vibe to it, while others like "Back to Normal" and "Take You There" highlight the band's dreamy, echoing quality.

In my review of their single, I mentioned that this is a band on the verge of fulfilling their significant potential. Mission accomplished.

To help launch the album, the band will be setting off on a ten-date tour of Australia (full details on Facebook). This will include a special appearance at the first ever INDIE SHUFFLE PRESENTS night in Sydney on November 24 "“ RSVP here!
Hugh McClure
Author: Hugh McClure
Hugh is based in Sydney, Australia, and lives in a world where music helps him function. Hugh's passion is sharing Australian music with the rest of t ... learn more →