Image via Unsplash.
Playlist image
When the current song has ended you'll see it here
Indie Shuffle App
FREE — On Google Play
Indie Shuffle App
FREE — On iTunes
Sons of Rico - This Madness
Apr 29, 2011
Total plays:
43 times
Why do we like this?
Diversity is at the forefront for Sons of Rico on their debut album, Reactions. The Western Australian five-piece delves so deep into a multitude of diverse styles that it's almost as if you're listening to a compilation album with a plethora of different bands. 

Originally formed in 2004 as a duo of lead guitarist and singer Alex MacRae and drummer Adam Weston (who is also part of the successful Australian rock band Birds of Tokyo), the band has grown, and Glenn Saragapany (guitar, vocals), Rob Stephens (bass), and Brett Murray (keys) have joined the fun. 

MacRae and Weston released an EP in 2007, Orange Skies, which was originally only available to purchase at their live shows. Backed by a government grant, the band then started work on what would become Reactions, which was officially released in October 2010. 

While the album does shift dramatically from song to song, it does not take away from the continuity. Kicking off with the poppy singles, "Miss Adventure" and "This Madness," we then see the band's heavier side on "It's Alright" and "Sucker." "In the Morning" is a powerful rock ballad, with Murray's keys heavily featured. Rounding out the rainbow of styles is "Adam's Apple," which has a distinct Motown vibe.   

Because of the genre swinging, you might find yourself somewhat confused on the first listen, but it's undoubtedly an album which takes some time to adjust to. Variation is the key to longevity, and this is true with Reactions, which provides a new angle on each run-through.
Jack White - Respect Commander
Save (90)
Jack White - Lazaretto
Save (183)
The Black Keys - Lonely Boy
Save (221)
The Black Keys - Gold On The Ceiling
Save (158)
View more songs ↓
PAGE 1/1